SQL Sat 194 – Exeter Pre Con

sqlsat194_whitebackground_web

Hi all!

As you may or may not know, Dave Ballantyne and myself are lucky enough to be doing a pre con session at the up coming SQL Sat 194 in Exeter on the 8th of March 2013.

This is my first ever pre con session and I don’t mind telling you that, from my side at least, it has been a lot of work to put together. I’m not sure what I expected when Dave and I agreed to do it but it has certainly taken up a few evenings and weekends Smile

That being said, it’s been and labour of love and I’m genuinely really excited about spending a day with a group of people that have spent real cash monies to come and see Dave and myself. It’s genuinely a humbling experience when you think about it like that, so to all that are attending, thank you! Open-mouthed smile (There may also be some Haribo as a thank you as well on the day)

So, as a teaser for the people that are attending I thought I’d give you a sneak peak of what you’ve got to look forward to during the day:

  • Query Plan Deep Dives
    • Taking a deep look into statistics, plan caching and query plan internals and more
  • Procedural vs set based code
    • Looking at the performance implications of cursors, UDFs, TVFs, Recursive CTE’s and more
  • TSQL Myths and Misconceptions
    • Taking a look at common mistakes people make in sql server and TSQL coding and also challenging common misconceptions and misunderstandings
  • SQL Server 2012 TSQL Improvements
    • A good look at some of the new TSQL and other functionality of sql 2012

So there it is, I hope that will whet your appetite for getting stuck in on the day. If there’s anything any of you attendees want to take a specific look at then please either drop a comment on this post or drop me an email (davidmorrison2009 at googlemail dot com) and we will see what we can do

Look forward to seeing you in Exeter!

Dave

Leave a Reply

